Sweep and squish

26 05 2009

A little birdie mentioned to someone she knew that she’d read an amusing post on my blog. The one in which I spent HOURS frozen in fear trying to work up the courage to take care of bludgeon to death a spider the size of a tricycle. The “someone” happened to be a PR person for Swiffer, and after reading about my bug-bludgeoning alternative use for my wet/dry mop, she very graciously sent me a new one.

Now, I have two Swiffers: one for cleaning my floors, and one for obliterating bugs while my husband is away. How happy am I? Thank you, Amy!

I have labeled them accordingly, and in a bug emergency a few days ago, I was able to grab the appropriate Swiffer and take care of business.

A few days ago I was Swiffering our FOREVER littered-with-dust-bunnies wood floors, when Oliver spotted me. He is IN LOVE with the Swiffer and he immediately took over. I don’t know what it is about little kids and cleaning, but WHATEV. Go for it, I said. He swiffered away for a good 10 minutes before his older brother (who’d been hypnotized by Curious George and was blessedly quiet and motionless) (seriously, that monkey is my saving grace every day at 4pm, when he gives me the gift of 30 quiet minutes to rest my voice and my ears) spotted him. And then war broke out.

One Swiffer? Two boys? What ever could be done?

3568597160_f82d1e96fe

I grabbed the bug-killing Swiffer and slapped a dry mop sheet on it, covering up the guts. (The amount of guts is almost zilch, since I’ve only used it once so far, for a little bitty thing.) And then I sat down with a cup of coffee and watched my children do the housework for me for the next 20 minutes. Finally I had to get them in the bath and I actually had to- I’m not joking- pry the Swiffers out of their dirty little hands. Oliver even busted out the tears over his.

I promised him he could clean again tomorrow. And the next day. And the next.

Having two Swiffers is an unexpected awesome. Although I may need to purchase a third, so each boy can have his own while keeping the gutty one relegated to bug killing. Maybe- if Ethan’s lucky- I’ll get him one for his birthday next month. Maybe.

Note: Amy of Swiffer did not ask me to post about my Swiffer; no one did. I did so of my own free will and because my children (and I) have serious, inappropriate love for ours.


Actions

Information

6 responses

27 05 2009
Kameron

Shoes are my bug squishing weapon of choice! I can see where a swifer could come in handy since you don’t have to get as close as you do when wielding a shoe! Your boys can come over and do my floors if they aren’t busy tomorrow!

27 05 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

Swiffer races!

27 05 2009
aliasmother

The Buddha loves to unload the dishwasher. I always fake a “are you suuuure you want to?” until she nods with appropriate enthusiasm. Then I let her go for it as if I am loathe to give up the fun. (By “unload,” I mean she hands me things and I put them away. Just FYI in case CPS is reading.)

She also helps feed the dog, wipe up spills, and sweep dirt into the dust pan. The point of all this? Chores can never start too early! Go, boys, go!

29 05 2009
astarte

Our kids love the swiffer mop! I love that you got a freebie!

31 05 2009
RookieMom Whitney

Ha ha ha. I have always loved being a matchmaker for people and the things that make them happy, even spent hours brainstorming on how to make it part of my career (executive recruiter? college admissions counselor?). This is by far my funniest introduction.

16 06 2009
RookieMom Heather

Caley, did you know that you can remove some of those metal pieces of length and make them sized for toddlers and preschoolers? Brilliant.

Leave a Reply

