In the White House, GENIUS.

8 05 2009

I didn’t mail my mom her Mother’s Day card until Thursday; chances that it’ll get delivered to her before Sunday are pretty slim, right? Oops. That’s okay, though; as my mom likes to say, “Always make sure you’re wearing clean underwear!” Wait, that’s not the one I meant. “Don’t talk about my mother or I’ll talk about yours!” Nope, not it. “Better late than never!” Yeah, that’s the one. (She’s used a lot of sayings over the years.)

Besides, she’s the type of mom to insist that you don’t need to get her anything or make a fuss over her. And she means it, too; that isn’t some front that really means get her something, and while you’re at it, make a fuss over her, too. She’d much rather have one of her children show their appreciation with kind words, or a meaningful gesture. Yeah, she’s cool like that.

I’m happy to say (at the risk of sounding full of myself) that I think I inherited this trait from her. While expensive jewelry and other fancy shmancy gifts are definitely nice (I wouldn’t, for example, turn this sucker down if it magically showed up on my doorstep…), I don’t desire or expect those kinds of things. As sappy as it sounds, I’d rather someone say something nice to me. Or show me in some small, random and unexpected way that they were thinking of me. That’s it. I’m a true believer in that cop-out line that “it’s the thought that counts.”

Unfortunately for me, though, that isn’t the only trait I got from my mom. I’m, for lack of a more politically correct term, a dumb blonde. I do and say some of the ditziest things imaginable, and so does my mother. In the spirit of Mother’s Day and honoring her and such, I won’t tell you some of the crazy things she’s done or said. I have no shame, though, and therefore have no problem sharing with you some of my own little gems. Here are some things I have actually said (or done). Out loud. In front of other people. I’m not joking.

•I once spent a good 20 minutes trying to figure out how to rewind a DVD.

•In college, this kid tried to tell me that the word “gullible” wasn’t in the dictionary. Feeling 99% certain that it WAS in the dictionary, I looked it up to prove him wrong.

•After watching an actress who is not blind portray a person who was, I remarked, “I wonder if blind people get as annoyed as I do seeing someone pretending to be blind…?”

•Jeff was telling me about work the other day when he mentioned something about the Vice President and where he lives. Pondering on this a little further, I actually wondered aloud, “Where does Obama live?”

There are oh-so-many more, but my cheeks are red and I want to go hide under my blankets now. Thanks, Mom! And happy Mother’s Day!

This post was written for Parent Bloggers Network as part of a sweepstakes sponsored by Johnson’s.


Actions

Information

5 responses

8 05 2009
Ethan's Oma

What do you mean ?? Me ?? ditzy ? ……ummm never mind…hey, it’s SOOOO easy to be a cool Mom when you have such a cool daughter !!! Thanks honey….I love you

oooops….like mother, like daughter…I also mailed Mother’s Day cards late…so, I guess we’re even 😉

8 05 2009
RookieMom Whitney

Caley, You write so well, it’s clear that your brain is in full working order. I love that you just confessed to wondering where the Obamas live. Maybe you’re on to some great security strategy of the government, and they actually sleep in another house?

I must be the one who is an idiot: I got that fancy Kitchen Aid mixer as a wedding gift and returned it.

8 05 2009
Caley

Ethan’s Oma: Don’t, d-d-don’t don’t d-don’t tell me!

RookieMom Whitney: First: Thank you! Second: YES, I like that much better- I’m On To Something Top Secret, not just Dumb. Third: If I’d gotten one when I got married, I probably wouldn’t have known what to do with it. As it is, I spend a lot more time in the kitchen than I used to, so I could really use it.

8 05 2009
Ethan's Oma

yeah, you don’t really need a fancy Kitchen-Aid mixer to make a grilled cheese sandwich 😉

10 05 2009
Stephanie, Mama Dramatist

Most of us (especially perpetually distracted mommies) have blond moments. A few of us have the courage to blog about them!

Rock on, and Happy Mothers’ Day!!

Leave a Reply

