The one about my other

26 02 2009

Having Jeff away for work so much lately has (surprise!) made me appreciate him and all he does when he DOES deign to grace us with his presence, that much more. And I’m not just referring to the fact that I’m not changing poopsplosion after surprise-nighttime-toddler-poop after poopy blowout after accidental mess in the Superman underpants after OMG THE POOP, will we ever be free of the poop?, all by myself. Though it IS cool to have him get his hands dirty (heh) instead of me, for a change.

What I’m talking about is his ability to make us all laugh. He makes things fun around here! It’s one of the things that attracted me to him ALL THOSE YEARS ago, among other things. Plus, you know, he does take a good deal of the parental load off of me. When I nag, yell and bother him to, that is.

So in honor of him, on to the meme! I don’t do memes often, but I liked this one.

What are your middle names?

Mine is Lynn (same as my mom’s) and Jeff’s is Craig (same as his dad’s; also Oliver’s).

How long have you been together?

Together for 7 years; married for almost 5.

How long did you know each other before you started dating?

We met in 11th grade, and were good friends for about 4 years before we got wise.

Who asked whom out?

This is tough. Hm… I would say neither one of us. We were just like, “Heeey, I like you…” and “Heeey, I like you, too…” and all of a sudden, heeey, we were together.

How old are each of you?

Both 28, one month and three weeks apart.

Whose siblings do you see the most?

We don’t live in the same state as our families, so we see all our siblings equally; which is to say, not much at all.

Which situation is the hardest on you as a couple?

The answer to this one is definitely the traveling that Jeff has to do for work. He’s gone for anywhere from two days at a time, to a week, or more. Sometimes it isn’t more often than a few times a month. But lately its been a ‘home for two days, then leave again for four’ kind of schedule. This isn’t difficult on him; he gets a mini-vacay, with lots of eating out, going out, even sleeping in. Whereas I get… well. You know. THE STICK. And not the good end. Which means he often comes home to a stressed-out, frustrated, exhausted and not-very-pleasant wife. So. You can see the problems, I think.

Did you go to the same school?

We went to the same high school, but didn’t meet until the 11th grade. We were good friends in high school, and I saved every single note he ever wrote me (which was not that many, but still), and also which I find highly amusing to go back and read now. I can remember telling him many times that he had to write me a note, and then getting, instead, a sketch or a doodle from him, which I gladly accepted in lieu of my demanded note. (He is an awesome artist, fyi.)

Are you from the same hometown?

This is tricky since I’m not really sure if I HAVE a hometown; I moved around a lot growing up. But if you define ‘hometown’ as ‘the town I went to high school in, and the town we visit when we go “home” to visit family,’ then yes. If you define it as ‘town I was born in,’ then no.

Who is smarter?

Hm. I have to say, we’re probably on the same level of smartness. I’m better with grammar and spelling, but he’s better at the mathy stuff. Also, he has way more common sense than I.

Who is the most sensitive?

Uh. That would be me, BY A MILE. It’s been the cause of a many a good fight over the years, trust me.

Where do you eat out most as a couple?

Oh, we are so boring. I would love to say we frequent one of the many places we’re lucky (?) enough to live by, living as we do right outside DC and the many fine eating establishments it has to offer. But um, the wait staff at Red Robin know us by name. LAME.

Where is the furthest you two have traveled together as a couple?

Prague, Czech Republic.

Who has the craziest exes?

HA. No contest. Also, no comment. (Other than that ‘contest’ one.) (So, really, one comment, no answer.)

Who has the worst temper?

Um. I’ll take this one. Again. Sensitive and tempramental, THAT’S ME.

Who does the cooking?

I cook the food, Jeff eats it. But he does the dishes, so it’s a pretty fair trade, since I hate dishes.

Who is the neat freak?

Can a person be messy and a neat freak at the same time? If so, yet again, that would be me.

Who is more stubborn?

Hey, meme, HERE’S AN IDEA: ask a question that pertains to Jeff for once, k?

Who hogs the bed?

Me. *sigh*

Who wakes up earlier?

Yay! Score one for Jeff! He’s in the Army. That means he gets up Earlier Than is Right. Even with small children. Most days, 5ish.

Where was your first date?

You know, I have no idea. We were friends so long that it all just blurs together…

Who is more jealous?

I don’t like this question.

How long did it take to get serious?

Oh, roughly… 2 minutes? 3? Seriously, within a few days/weeks, we were talking marriage.

Who eats more?

I believe something I said once that Jeff likes to quote all. the. time. will answer this sufficiently: “My name is Caley. I like to eat.” But it has to be said in a deep, “hungry” voice. (For the record, I never said this. Nor did I use a voice like that when I wasn’t saying it.)

Who does the laundry?

I do. I like my clothes better when they fit, thank you.

Who is better with the computer?

Jeff. As I type, I have a little update bouncing around at the bottom of my screen, that has GOT to be tired by now, since it’s been bouncing for days. This bothers Jeff to no end. I use my computer to type things and to read things, and also to upload pictures. And the rest? I don’t do.

Who drives when you’re together?

Jeff says women can’t drive. I do not agree with this (though whenever I yell at another driver for doing something idiotic, 90% of the time that idiot is a woman, I’M SORRY WOMEN DRIVERS EVERYWHERE, but it’s true!) (in MY experiences, anyway). I happen to think I’m a very good driver- I’ve never been in an accident (that wasn’t the fault of an icy road or of the learning-to-drive-a-stick variety (forgive me, tree I hit that time…)). But I do not LIKE to drive at all, especially if I’m not familiar with where we’re going. So I always make Jeff drive.

I believe this meme was originally stolen from Facebook, but I don’t do the ‘book. I am, however, going to tag the new(again)-to-the-blog-world Hallie for this meme, and anyone else who wants to do it. Leave a link in the comments, if you feel so inclined.


Actions

Information

5 responses

26 02 2009
astarte

What a fun meme! I’m a little tired of some of the other ones. I like actually finding out real things about people. I’m nosy that way, Caley-who-likes-to-eat. HA!

26 02 2009
Stephanie of Stopbouncing

My Vicarious Baby is coming in about 6 weeks and I dare not mention “The Poop” and all subsequent poops… the first time I mentioned that I may have heard the first poo is something spawned from Satan, I though Vicarious Baby Momma was going to pass out.

26 02 2009
hallierenee

The eating question isn’t fair. Jeff eats nothing!!!

I did the very long meme on my blog : )

26 02 2009
hallierenee

Oh and the update thing. I’m excellent at ignoring it b/c I don’t want to restart. I click on it and tell it to remind me later. It will then stop jumping around.

28 02 2009
Ethan's Oma

It’s funny that you mentioned something about the notes that you and Jeff gave each other. I was cleaning in the basement the other day and saw this piece of paper, folded up, and I opened it. It was a note that you had sent to Jeff and it said at the end “someone should invent vanilla kool-aid”. Fast forward to today, the only people I know that have an entire cupboard devoted to candy ONLY (formerly known as the candy drawer). Just made me laugh. But then, you always have brought me joy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

