Cash doesn’t count

16 02 2009

Jeff’s been home for the past 4 days (he leaves again in 2). I will blame all the money we’ve spent (in this no-spend month, remember) on him. I was doing fine without him around, thank you very much. But now he’s back, and suddenly our family has grown by 1 member- specifically, an iPhone. To be fair, his old phone was a piece of literal crap, and he needed a new one. Mine wasn’t much better, so we decided to replace mine as well (although not with an iPhone; but don’t feel sorry for me, I inherited his iPod in this whole expansion process) while we were at it.

And there were other purchases, too- a chain lock for the front door (because Ethan thinks its fun to open it up and greet the world at all hours; I’m worried he’ll pack a suitcase and just run out one of these days), ANOTHER trip to the grocery store (Jeff cooked me a Valentine’s dinner), and an office chair. I wanted to try to wait it out for this one, until the month was over. But I could not; I find myself sitting at a desk a lot these days to study, and the chair from the dining room table was death to my back. But I finally took the time to reorganize/unpack/clean our office/laundry room, and I thought it deserved a nice comfy new chair to go with its new look.

3284785885_af7473d8a0Before (it’s blurry, but I think the mess is still VERY clear)

3285604966_efacb71157After (still crammed, but look! counter/table/desk tops!)

Lest you think I am a careless, spendy no-spender, I have to say that in my defense, each of our purchases was planned. Even with a trip to the mall, we did not buy anything spur of the moment (except for two pretzels at Auntie Anne’s, THE SLUT; why do they have to be so good?) (oh, and we paid cash for the pretzels, so as Jeff says, “it didn’t count,” because he used cash he had left from the per diem he got on one of his trips) (I was resistant to this logic at first, but it quickly won me over). In fact, if you want to get technical, we actually made a little money, since I returned one of the pairs of jeans I bought last week or whenever that was (skinny leg jeans: what on EARTH was I THINKING? I need a chaperone on all future shopping trips, please).

I’ll get back on track. I HAVE to, the King of Hearts has decreed it so. And you don’t mess with this guy.

3284784859_828dee2abe

Friday, February 13, 2009

Necessary:

$0.00

Unnecessary:

$OMG WAY TOO MUCH- AT&T store

Saturday, February 14, 2009

Necessary:

$9.49 – Giant

Unnecessary:

$0.00

Sunday, February 15, 2009

Necessary:

$6.75- Home Depot

$113.38- Staples

Unnecessary:

$0.00


Actions

Information

3 responses

16 02 2009
Ethan's Oma

i heart the king of hearts !!!!

18 02 2009
astarte

Cash totally doesn’t count. I find money in the laundry or the couch frequently, and not only does it not count, it’s sometimes not even mine!!! But, since I do the laundry, it becomes mine. Heh heh heh.

18 02 2009
hallierenee

To keep the recession at a minimum, I have taken up your Target shopping for the month of February. I can’t even count the number of times I have been there recently.

Leave a Reply

