Gift-wrapped

12 02 2009

As predicted, 4 days after spending both my arm AND my leg on groceries, I had to go back again. I stopped at a Giant, out of convenience, on our way home from music class. I only needed three things: the baby cereal I forgot on Monday, sugar and eggs. (I just now looked at my receipt to see how much I spent, and oddly, each of those three items all cost exactly $3.19. Weird.)

I almost made it out of the store with just these three items. Almost. But then Ethan noticed a very cleverly placed display of puzzles, and his eyes lit up- he is a puzzle FIEND. In fact, ’round these parts, we call him the Puzzle Master. He asked for one, and I immediately replied with my standard, “Nope, sorry, we don’t need any puzzles today.” But of course he did not listen. He talked about how cool they were, and how much he loves puzzles… He wasn’t at all tantrum-ey about it. Just disappointed.

I was torn. Normally, I would have picked it up without a thought. So I said, “Well, you do have some money of your own… I guess if you really want it, you could buy it with your own money…” Cue dance of joy. Of course, I didn’t happen to have any of his money on me. I’d have to pay for it with my other stuff, and then, what? Take 5 bucks out of his cash when we got home, replacing it with 2 of my own? That just seemed silly. But by now I’d already said he could get it, and as we all know, you can’t possibly back out of that when it comes to a 3 year old. So. We purchased an unnecessary item today.

However, two things: one, it’s not like it was YET ANOTHER piece of plastic junk. We’re talking about a puzzle here- a toy that requires the child to think, in effect making it more of a learning tool than a toy, really. And two, I really did give it serious thought before buying it, which is a major improvement for me. While I may have slipped a little in the past 2 weeks (has it been only 2 weeks?!?) when it comes to this experiment, at least I can take comfort in what I’m learning from it.

And apparently I’m not the only one learning from this: yesterday I was in the bathroom blow drying my hair when Ethan came in with some Scotch tape, asking me if I could get a piece off for him. Obviously, I required that he first let me in on what he planned to DO with the tape before supplying him with it. He said he was wrapping presents. That was good enough for me. (He doesn’t really lie yet, and if he’d been taping his eyes shut or putting tape all over the tv or something he would have just naively told me.)

When I came out of the bathroom, I found a neat little pile of presents that he’d wrapped up for Oliver, all by himself. Complete with “bows.” So, I guess he’s learning that we don’t really need more new toys when he already has plenty at home, toys that we can pretend are new and exciting with just a little tape and some newspaper.

3274891021_c37b6d3a02

And socks. Can’t forget the socks.

3274891109_aa654c48f1

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

Necessary:

$58.00- Internet bill

Unnecessary:

$0.00

Thursday, February 12, 2009

Necessary:

$9.90 -sugar, eggs and cereal

Unnecessary:

$2.99 -puzzle (but a well-spent $2.99)


Actions

Information

One response

21 02 2009
Mae

Ethan you are awesome!!!

Leave a Reply

