Spoiled much?

10 02 2009

We’ve been no-spending it for 10 days now, and it only feels like 40! Actually, it’s not that bad. I might even be getting used to it. I mean, as much as I like to buy things, it’s also cool to have more money. So really, it’s a win-win. For me, anyway.

For Ethan, though? The transition hasn’t been as easy. Today we went to the library (free!) and the playground (also free!). We were getting back into the car when he informed me that he was hungry. So I handed him some goldfish. He looked at me with a hint of disgust and said, “I don’t want these. Can we go to a restaurant and eat?” Which, I’ll admit, I tend to do more often while Jeff is away (which he is AGAIN, did I mention that?), although it’s less restauranty and more McShmonald’sy, but they’re all the same to him.

I haven’t told him that we’re not spending money this month; he might be old enough to understand it, but when the month is over, I don’t want him using, “But it’s March now! NOW you can buy me that toy!” as leverage. Instead, I’ve just been telling him (over and over and over and over again) that we don’t need x, we have plenty of x at home, we don’t need to go out and buy more x every day.

So later, we’re in the car again, driving home, when he says, “I’m bored, what can I do?” I said, “Why don’t you read some of your library books?” Those lasted him all of 2 minutes before he heaved a big sigh and said, “Can’t we just go to Target and buy me something to do?” Which, wow. I didn’t realize I was that bad! I know I go there and buy bags full of unnecessary crap a lot, but I guess I just didn’t realize the extent of it. I do now, though. And I’ll be taking all of Ethan’s credit cards away ASAP, as it seems I have inadvertently raised a child to whom spending money without thought, plan or savings is normal. Oops.

Tuesday, February 10, 2009

Necessary:

$1.10- library fine

Unnecessary:

$0.00


Actions

Information

One response

18 02 2009
astarte

Gosh, you are doing so well!!!

I always have library fines, too. I look at it as a way to support my public library! The librarians don’t seem to see it that way, though. Funny.

Leave a Reply

