Tapped out

29 08 2008

I caved. I’m a lemming, and I totally bought Twilight a few days ago. And now it is my personal mission to have it finished by Sunday night, because Monday morning? Yeah, Jeff leaves for another work trip, halfway around the world, gone for a week, AGAIN. And he’s hoping to take the book with him to keep him amused during his eleventy-billion hour flight. I told him he wouldn’t like it. Yeah, it’s got vampires, COOL, but… in my opinion, it’ll be too lovey-dovey for his tastes. Note: this is a guy whose library is limited to the Splinter Cell novels, Stephen King, and Harry Potter.

I have no doubts I’ll finish the book before Jeff leaves. For one thing, it’s easy reading, and for another, did you know you can switch the TV to PBS and hand a baby his dropped toy (repeatedly) without ever taking your eyes off the page? Yes, it’s true. That was pretty much how we spent our afternoon Thursday. In my defense, Thursday was the worst day I’ve had in my parental career in… ever. I won’t get into the details. I will say this: POTTY TRAINING IS THE DEVIL. And while Oliver could not be a better baby, I’ve been finding it extremely difficult to deal with two children. All day long. The older one is constantly hitting the younger one. They are both ALWAYS needing me at the SAME EXACT INSTANT. I feel so inadequate. And then I see a baby somewhere, like a brand new smooshy wrinkly baby, and WANTWANTWANT it, and WTF? I can’t do it with 2! Why on EARTH would I possibly want to ADD ANOTHER? WHY WHY WHY?

Ahem. So Thursday, it was not good. Jeff was thoughtful enough to bring me my favorite candy and a card telling me that he appreciates what I do for our kids everyday (a card with a picture of a butt with grass growing on it– inside it said, “Mucho Grassy Ass”; I’m so glad we have the same sense of humor). And while I totally appreciate his thoughtfulness, what I really would like is for him to pull double duty this weekend. Give me the few days before he leaves to rest up, to refuel, take some time off from my 24/7 job that I NEVER LEAVE. I don’t know how I will make it through the coming week alone if I don’t get a little time off.

*sigh* But I know that won’t happen. Of course I will make it through the week. It’s not as if I have any other choice, right?


Actions

Information

One response

30 08 2008
Courtney

It’s been said that adding child number 2 to the family is the hardest transition; after that, it’s cake. I was third-born and I can say from experience that I was indeed the easiest child. đŸ™‚ I sympathize with you. I have hard days with one child, but I would love to be able to give you a hand if I could.

Leave a Reply

