The Rookie Mom’s must-have book, and also, a contest!

8 05 2008

I have been a fan of the Rookie Moms for years, ever since I first became one (because I’m no longer a rookie; I’m totally a professional now) (no, seriously- I pay dues every month and have business cards) (this is not true; professionals get PAID, do they not?). Ahem. That means I’ve been reading and loving their blog for almost 3 years now. Their blog, on more than one occasion, proved to be something of a lifeline for me those first few months of motherhood; I lived in a new city where I knew no one, and didn’t know my way around town. And I can still remember the day I stumbled upon their blog (I think I got there via a link from ParentHacks), and it was like all of a sudden there was a light at the end of my milky, poopy tunnel. I didn’t have friends in this new town, in my real life, but here were two (self-described) geeky girls who were as good as, encouraging me to get out and do something, anything, no matter how simple the activity, with my new little burp monster.

As my first child grew, I continued to read their blog, finding inspiration all the time: from the crafty to the adventurous, the experimental (“Get your baby a job as a scientist” led me to find out what colleges in the area were looking for little ones to participate in psychology studies; Ethan’s been doing this since he was about 10 months old, every 6 months or so, and I’ll most likely get Oliver involved, too) to the aquatic (“Go for a swim” encouraged me to sign Ethan and myself up for Baby & Me swim lessons). The Rookie Moms’ blog is terrific, but their new book, The Rookie Mom’s Handbook: 250 Activities to Do With (and Without!) Your Baby is even better: now I can give the Rookie Moms and all their wonderful ideas to someone! Much like a new mom’s diaper bag, it is jam-packed FULL of activities for you to do with (and without, just as the title says) your baby, only waaay more organized than any diaper bag I’ve ever seen.

The book is divided into sections by month, and each section outlines the new skills you’ve learned, and the new fears you’ve probably developed, followed by a reality check that is sure to get you feeling confident again. This is followed by a PLETHORA of activity ideas, from the simple (“Give your baby a pickle”) to the more involved (“Design your own baby clothes”), from the social to the solitary, from the organizational to the just-for-fun, there are hundreds of ideas that any new mom will absolutely love to read about and try out. In fact, even not-so-new moms will get a lot out of the book, too. I’m on my second kid and am already making a list of all the ideas in the book that I need to try out myself: “Blend your own baby food,” “Arrange to have the groceries come to you,” “Make a time capsule,” and tons more.

What I love most about the book, though, aside from the sanity-saving ideas that got me out of the house in those dark days of dealing with a newly born little person, is the tone of the authors. Whitney and Heather speak to you in all 250 of their ideas as if they are talking to their good friend. They are candid, funny and encouraging. Becoming a mother is such an emotional time, a time when having friends who can help remind you not to overlook yourself amongst all the baby craziness is so important. They’ll help make sure you don’t forget to focus on you, and balance that out with focusing on your baby in unique ways.

I can’t say enough great things about this book. I love it! I will be purchasing it for my sister, proud new mama herself as of three weeks ago. Seriously, you know that bag of free stuff (usually coupons and sample size baby products) they give you when you leave the hospital? They should TOTALLY include this in that bag. It’s a must-have! There isn’t a mother out there who wouldn’t benefit from this book.

Sadly, though, I don’t yet know of any hospitals giving this book away to new moms. But lucky for YOU, I happen to have a copy right here in my possession, just waiting to be given away! Keep it for yourself, give it to your pregnant friend or sister, a new mom, a veteran mom, anyone! All you have to do is leave a comment on this post and I’ll use a random number generator (I hear good things about the random number generator, that he is fair and to be trusted; my write-number-on-piece-of-paper-then-pull-from-hat method? not so much) to determine a winner.

The rules:

1. Leave a comment on this post, before midnight EST next Tuesday, May 13.

2. Make sure to provide your e-mail address!

3. I’ll announce the winner here on Wednesday, May 14, and also e-mail the winner to notify him/her.

4. You can only enter once!

**Edited to add: You don’t need to leave your e-mail address as part of your comment. Just make sure you provide a valid e-mail address when you login to comment!**

Good luck!


Actions

Information

14 responses

8 05 2008
AndreAnna

You know I love free stuff! And contests! I’m in!!

8 05 2008
RookieMom Heather

What a sweet review. Thank you. But please don’t pick me. Well, I can always give it away…

8 05 2008
sosuperknits

That book sounds great! I’d like a shot at it.

8 05 2008
sosuperknits

oh, my email. so.super at gmail

8 05 2008
Mae West

This book sounds great and something I could really use. Sign me up! My email is: rickyandmae04@yahoo.com

9 05 2008
curlywurlygurly

sounds cute and my sister’s a rookie who would enjoy this! please sign me up. πŸ™‚

9 05 2008
Kim

I am thrilled to enter your contest! With Baby #2 on the way (we have our sonogram next Thursday!), I could use some fresh advice on how to entertain/maintain sanity with a little one. Great review!

9 05 2008
Ethan's Oma

I would love to win this book !!!!

9 05 2008
aliasmother

Oh, I need this. I spend only three days at home with the Buddha Baby and at least four times during each day I say, “I really just don’t know what to do with you, kid.”

Who knew I was so dull?

9 05 2008
Meg

In! Though I am a looong way off from having any babies of my own, I have been told I’m in charge of all crafts and entertainment for my new fake nephew, so this would totally come in handy for me and his mom.

Also, Caley, if you have any awesome infantainment ideas, I would love to hear them on Sunday.

11 05 2008
jenefur

Sign me up! I’ve been so busy I missed this post of yours!

11 05 2008
Ian

I saw the post, but I figured I’d be one of 5 dozen comments! πŸ™‚

12 05 2008
Hallie

Count me in. You know my email address.

12 05 2008
cass

I must admit that after reading your blog the other day I couldn’t chance not winning (another) contest. And so I ordered the book! But what a good promotion! If I were to win I would give it to one of my prego friends!

Leave a Reply

