Rashy McNasty Fest

23 04 2008

(OH YUM to that title, right?)

So a quick update on all the Booby Fevers, as I’ve come to call them. First, thank you to all of you who left me encouraging comments. They were full of helpful advice, and it was nice to hear the supportive words. I’ve decided to stick this thing out until Oliver is at least 6 months old. Then I’ll reassess. If things go the way they have been, then I’ll likely stop breastfeeding and do my best to focus on the success of breastfeeding my baby for those first 6 months. Otherwise, I’ll go for another couple of months, re-reassess, and go from there. I had planned to breastfeed Oliver until about he’s about a year old, which is what I did with Ethan (he weaned himself at exactly 12 months), and I’m going to continue on with that goal, but if things don’t work out that way, then I’m okay with making it to 6 months. I think that’s still a terrific start for my baby.

And now I’m going to SHAMELESSLY beg you- YOU, my readers, including all you lurkers, YES YOU, my blog stats tell me you are reading!- for some advice. We have a nasty little problem with Ethan, and I NEED SOME HELP. Here it is:

We were potty training before Oliver got here. Oliver arrived and potty training LEFT THE BUILDING. I tried once again when Oliver was about a month old, and Ethan clearly was not into it. (Plus, do you know how hard it is to take a kid to the potty and clean up his messes WHILE you have your hungry baby attached to your body? ) So I decided we’d wait. I had it in my head that we’d try again when he turned 3, unless he indicated before then that he was ready.

Well. Not only has he given no indication, but he STILL refuses to tell anyone when he has pooped in his diaper. And I don’t always become aware of this fact immediately on my own. Most of the time, I have no idea he’s pooped until 20, 30, 45 even 60 minutes later. An hour! All the while, he’s doing whatever he’s doing with poop on his bum. When I finally smell it and think to question/check him, it’s too late. He has had the absolute worst diaper rashes, just horrible ones that make me feel so sick to my stomach. His pain during the resulting diaper changes/clean ups just hurts me. I know it’s partly his fault; he is old enough to let me know that he’s pooped. But it’s mostly my fault; I don’t pay him the kind of attention that I did before we had a baby. I feel like I should be checking his diaper every hour or so, like I do with Oliver. But that’s sillly; Oliver is 4 months old. Ethan is 35 months old. He knows better than this.

I don’t know what to do. I wonder how other people handle potty training toddlers while caring for new(ish)borns? How do I get him to tell me that he needs his diaper changed? Is there something out there that works better on POWERFUL diaper rashes than Desitin?

I’d love to hear any thoughts you might have. I NEED to hear them, actually. I was going to try to get Ethan in to see his pediatrician, but with his 3 year check up right around the corner (6 weeks away), I thought we’d just wait it out. I’m rethinking that decision after today’s RASHY MCNASTY fest though.

We are off on our little mini vacay today- caves and mountains and animals, oh my. And we convinced our neighbor and her son to come along, too! Should be a GREAT two days full of 3-year-olds and their temper tantrums, baby puke on outfits with only VERY limited back-up outfits to replace them, and lots of driving. I’m so excited! 🙂


Actions

Information

7 responses

23 04 2008
Emily

Our daughter had nasty diaper rash when she was 1 1/2 because of completely toxic poops. A dermatologist recommended Aquaphor. We slathered that stuff all over her and it created a pretty good barrier. Unfortunately the other bit of advice was to let her run around without a diaper – not sure that would work so great for you right now, though. Good luck!

23 04 2008
Hallie

At the daycare I swear this worked the best. http://www.triplepaste.com/gclid__CN__Hk7S28ZICFQ9ggQod__BL5Ig/
They sold it at Happy Harry’s Pharmacy in DE. I know you can buy it online. It is pricey but you only really need to use it when it is a bad rash.

23 04 2008
jenefur

I’ve heard from several friends that Butt Paste works pretty well.

23 04 2008
Jennifer

I second the aquaphor suggestion. I use it for every rash. It could be a toxic poop thing, or it could be a yeast infection. Has he had one before? My Nugget had one, and then two days of medicated cream later, it was all better. Check with your pediatrician. S/he might even call in the prescription if Ethan has had a yeast infection in the past.

As for the potty training, my only thought is to put Ethan on his potty every time you change Oliver’s diaper. Don’t make a big deal about it, just tell him that’s where he needs to sit. If he goes in the potty, make a big whoop about it, put a sticker on a chart, or whatever. But if he doesn’t go, just put his diaper back on and go about your day.

23 04 2008
Kim

The Triple Paste works very well. I know you can get it at Target and/or Walmart. Maybe putting him on the potty when you change Oliver is the way to set some structure. Then again, he may be the type of kiddo who will magically be trained in a few days when you least expect it.

24 04 2008
curlywurlygurly

hmmm…since i have no kids and haven’t had a diaper rash myself for about 32 years, i’ll leave that advice to the pros.

as for your trip, have a grand time and take lots of pictures! 🙂

29 04 2008
Remember when… « Sublime Bedlam

[…] Posted by Caley under Uncategorized   I asked for advice concerning the Rashy McNasty boy? Thank you for all the suggestions regarding Ethan’s red, red bum. Despite being taken to the […]

Leave a Reply

