100 things, part 1

8 04 2008

Thought I’d share my 100 Things, 25 at a time. I’d give you all one hundred right now, but someone is waiting on me to bake cookies with him. And I can’t refuse that, especially since “cookies baked with toddler son” totally fall under the Necessary category.

1. I am in (secret) love with America’s Next Top Model, Beauty and the Geek, Intervention, and The Hills.

2. The middle finger on my right hand is double-jointed. It’s gross.

3. I have two siblings- an older brother who lives in Maine and a younger sister who lives in Pennsylvania (and is due with her first baby in 3 days!). Yes, I am the middle child, and all the rumors are true.

4. Though Jeff and I met in high school and were good friends, we didn’t actually start dating until 4 years after we’d graduated.

5. I love banana bread. I hate bananas.

6. I have a tattoo of a butterfly on my right shoulder. It is covering up a tattoo of another, much smaller butterfly.

7. I am DEATHLY afraid of butterflies. (Actually, I’m scared of most things with wings.)

8. Yes, I know I have a tattoo of one. But it’s on my back, I can’t see it. Perhaps I did this as a (FAILED) way of conquering my fear?

9. I once tagged an underpass with a friend.

10. I detest mushrooms.

11. Growing up, we had a rabbit named Thumper, and a video of him was one of four finalist videos on America’s Funniest Home Videos in the early ’90’s. We won $1000. In the video, Thumper dealt cards. Seriously. (Also, could I say ‘video’ one more time?)

12. When I was little, I was convinced that I’d come from Mars, and I told this to anyone who would listen.

13. I keep my glasses in my purse, sans case. This literally HURTS Jeff. Needless to say, they are pretty scratched up.

14. I can read and watch TV/movies at the same time.

15. I can only fall asleep at night if I lie on my stomach. Needless to say, I did not sleep at all during both of my pregnancies.

16. I could eat turkey sandwiches every day and never tire of them.

17. I can quote the movie Home Alone from start to finish.

18. I stole a jawbreaker from my brother when I was in third grade, and later confessed through sobs to my mom because I thought I was going to go to JAIL for my crime.

19. I had to memorize The Pledge of Allegiance in French in 7th grade (something every loyal Francophone should know…). I can still recite it.

20. I have lived in 7 states and 2 countries.

21. I have yet to ever find a personalized item (keychains, pencils, stickers, etc.) in a store with my name on it. I always check.

22. I hate the word “loaf”.

23. When I was in first grade, my class went to a taping of the Bozo the Clown show. I got to meet him. He called me “Banana Head.”

24. I wish I had more patience. Especially with my almost-3-year-old.

25. I find it difficult to sleep at night if the towels in the linen closet are not all folded the same, uniform way.


Actions

Information

10 responses

8 04 2008
AndreAnna

I am with you on the winged creatures, mushrooms, and patience!!!

8 04 2008
ethans oma

And I love all 25 things about you. Actually, I’m sure I will love all 100 things, but I haven’t heard them yet…..

8 04 2008
Mae West

I can only fall asleep on my stomach too and I totally hate bananas but love banana bread! Wish my pet rabbit Jasper dealt cards, all he did was bit people and run away from home. Can’t wait to hear the other 75 things about you!

8 04 2008
Meg

100 things are fun. Here are a few things about me (today, at least): I took a shower washing every body part with actual soap; including all my major crevices; including in between my toes and in my belly button which I never did before but sort of enjoyed. I washed my hair with adult formula shampoo and used cream rinse for that just-washed shine. I can’t seem to find my toothbrush, so I’ll pick one up when I go out today. Other than that, I’m in good shape.

8 04 2008
Caley

ethans oma: You have to say that, you’re my mother.

Meg: AAAAAAAGH! (See visuals here and here.)

Also, AWESOME. One question, though- did you have to look up those lines on IMDB or something, or did you quote from memory? Either way, thank you, that was beautiful. šŸ™‚

8 04 2008
ethans oma

I don’t HAVE to say anything…….:)

10 04 2008
Meg

I had to look it up because I couldn’t remember the whole thing. I’m what the French call “les incompetents.”

11 04 2008
Caley

Meg: HA! Ohhh, you are funny. Now I think I need to watch it again… I’ll have to find it first, since Jeff hides it and only breaks it out at Christmas time to keep me from watching it all year long. So wrong.

14 04 2008
Ian

So what part of the underpass did you tag? The easy part that you can reach from ground level or the part that is over the road? I ask because if it was over the road, I want to understand how that operates.

Have you looked for “your” episode of funniest videos on YouTube?

Did Bozo have a reason to call you banana head?

What, exactly, is frightening about a butterfly? I can’t think of any poisonous ones…

15 04 2008
Caley

Ian: The easy part that you can reach from ground level. I actually wrote a post about it once… I looked (briefly) in my archives and couldn’t find it… perhaps I’ll share the story again sometime. Only because I’m such a dork and this story is perfect evidence of it. But I am so with you on wanting to know how one tags the part that is over the road, short of stopping traffic to break out a ladder, or hanging over the side with some sort of system of cables… either way, how would one do that without anyone else witnessing it???

I hadn’t ever looked for Thumper’s AFHV episode on YouTube- AWESOME IDEA!*

I WISH I’d given Bozo a reason to call me Banana Head. Sadly, he shook hands with each person in my class and called each of us a name. I just happened to get Banana Head. I realize that would be a better story if I HAD given him reason.

OHMYGOODNESS, I WILL TELL YOU: their wings. Their papery little wings… fluttering… it’s something about the fluttering, I can’t explain it. The fear extends to dragonflies, lady bugs, and worst of all, MOTHS. Uljkkew;lfkjadk. I can’t even write about it anymore. I’m totally grossing myself out.

*I checked; no luck. We did, however, record the original show when it aired, and we still have our VHS copy of it. Somewhere.

Leave a Reply

