Cutting back, not cutting out

30 03 2008

Perhaps I should explain what I meant by “unnecessary sugar…”

Necessary:

*The sugar I put in my coffee, the one to two times a week that I can’t make it through the day without some caffeinated assistance

*A serving of whatever dessert we have on hand after dinner

*A can of pop here and there (I stopped drinking it when I got pregnant with Ethan, and it has stuck; I drink it only occasionally, like if we have pizza or something)

*Baked goods that kind people bring me (Meg brought Suspect Cookie Brownies this morning and, well, I couldn’t let her hard work go to waste!)

*Girl Scout cookies (I waited and waited and WAITED for them, and they finally came a few weeks ago (but not before my friend Kim so generously supplied me with a box of Samoas to hold me over, which is the only reason I was able to make it through that rough time), so it would just be wrong to not eat them)

Unnecessary:

*Candy bars

*Bags of fun size candy bars

*Candy, chocolate or otherwise, that comes in a bag and is then either put in a candy dish or hidden in a cupboard to sneak when Ethan’s not looking (Skittles, Hershey’s Kisses, M&M’s, Werther’s, Cinnamon discs, butterscotch candies, Starburst, pretty much ALL candy is what I’m saying)

*Little Debbie and her Snacks of Sin

*Ethan’s fruit snacks

*Pop Tarts

*My good friends Ben & Jerry

*Cap ‘n Crunch and Coco Puffs

I guess I should have said “cutting back” and not “cutting out”. I wouldn’t be able to completely cut out sugar, not possible. But cutting back I can do. Unless it is Little Debbie or a piece of candy, I can safely consume sugar or sugary things in moderation; I don’t overeat when it comes to dessert in the evening. I rarely drink pop. But I also don’t need to eat a pack of fruit snacks, a handful (or nineteen) of candy, one or two or four Little Debbies, etc., all in one day. I’m lacking in the energy department as it is, what with a baby and a toddler to take care of, and that amount of sugar isn’t helping matters.

I’ve been on my ‘cutting back’ kick since Friday now (a whole two days! WHERE IS MY MEDAL?), and I’ve managed to avoid all the unnecessaries hanging around the house so far, with very little crying. I actually even threw away a bowl of Vanilla Creme Hershey’s Kisses- they weren’t that good, and I didn’t want to lapse on piece of chocolate that wasn’t worth it. However, this is the weekend- Jeff’s home, we had company both Saturday night and this morning; once Monday comes, and it’s just me and the two time suckers with very little to distract ourselves from the television and the drooling and the monotony, well, that’ll probably be a different story.


Actions

Information

7 responses

30 03 2008
Swistle

Well, OKAY. *mollified*

30 03 2008
Caley

Well, you were right- going COMPLETELY sugar free would have been CA-RAZY! Besides, I can feel myself slipping already… and it’s only been two and a half days!

30 03 2008
ethans oma

I sense a dramatic drop in the price of stocks for the Little Debbie Company….but the shelves at the commissary will be over-flowing.

31 03 2008
Mae West

I am glad I’m not the only one eating my child’s fruit snacks. I don’t think Billy eats half of his fruit snacks because I get to them first. How wrong is that when he ask for one and I have to say they’re all gone.

31 03 2008
Caley

ethans oma- You should moonlight as a psychic friend!

Mae West- I KNOW! My favorites are the Curious George ones. I’m so pathetic!

8 04 2008
100 things, part 1 « Sublime Bedlam

[…] refuse that, especially since “cookies baked with toddler son” totally fall under the Necessary […]

29 04 2008
Remember when… « Sublime Bedlam

[…] nixed all unnecessary sugars? Do you know that one week after the sugar ban, I noticed I’d lost a pound? And then the next week, another pound? Which put me back at my […]

Leave a Reply

