Cake of all cakes

29 03 2008

Remember that cake I blogged about back in October? The one that was so amazingly delicious it caused this:

2370462792_119f1d4342.jpg

(That is Face Stuffage at its finest, and yes, that is my cake, resting on my 6-months-big belly.)

I made the Chocolate Wafer Icebox Cake for the first time a few weeks ago when we had dinner at a friends’ house, and it came out great. Not as good as when Meg made it, but at 6 months pregnant you could have put chocolate and whipped cream on Cap ‘n Crunch and I would have declared it a culinary masterpiece (which in NO WAY implies that your cake was anything less than Perfection, Meg!) (but… now that I think of it… does Cap ‘n Crunch with chocolate and whipped cream sound disturbingly yummy to anyone else?) (nah… that’s probably just my poor, neglected Sweet Tooth talking there, ever since I stopped eating candy) (16 HOURS AGO). Jeff, who is (ahem… this is difficult for me to say… give me a moment…) not so big on chocolate (I KNOW), suggested I try it with a different flavor of wafer. (Phew- went a little crazy with the parenthesis there, didn’t I?) (You thought it was NEVER GOING TO END, didn’t you?) (Didn’t you???)

And let me tell you, people: it was so good that I am writing this post for the sole purpose of imploring you to make this cake yourself, chocolate wafers or otherwise. I made it on Wednesday (you need to make it the night before so it can chill in the fridge overnight) with Nilla Wafers, and here are some tips I had to learn the hard way:

*Don’t be a moron like me and accidentally buy one box of regular Nilla Wafers and one box of Mini Nilla Wafers. It totally messes with the architectural symmetry of the cake.

*Use less layers. Nilla Wafers are much thicker cookies than those the recipe calls for (which really are wafer-thin). Just because you slap the word ‘wafer’ on a fat man doesn’t make him skinny. So if you layer as much as possible with the given amount of whipped cream and Nilla cookies, you’ll get a really tall cake, that is not only difficult to cut but also full of maybe just a layer or two too much of thick cookies.

*When doing a cookie layer, work from the outside in. You’ll see what I mean.

*Keep the whipped cream in the fridge in between layers. It’ll start to get a bit runny, and you do not want that.

This cake is literally a piece of cake to make. (Har har.) The end result is so stunning, people will totally be impressed with your culinary talents. If you make it, or find another kind of wafer/cookie that works with it, or doesn’t, I’d love to hear about it.

Now get to whipping your heavy cream, people.


Actions

Information

2 responses

30 03 2008
ethans oma

That picture is SO staged !!

31 03 2008
Caley

ethans oma- Jeff was hamming it up for the camera, yes. But I was honestly shoving my face.

Leave a Reply

