Still waiting…

16 12 2007

I am actually literally typing through a contraction right now. I can do this because one, they are lame-o, weak, FAKE contractions, and two, I’m just that awesome. No, seriously, they’re just really really weak. This baby is trying to trick me into thinking that they’re going to lead to something, like BIRTH, or some other such craziness. When in fact, I know that they are not, because I’m pretty sure that he’s totally fine with staying where he is for the next couple of months.

At my check up last week, after first informing me that I wasn’t even a centimeter dilated, my doctor gave me even more good news: he is leaving on Wednesday, the 19th, for an entire week. Because he thinks that somehow he has the right to go home for the holidays. Um, no? Clearly he did not take MY life and MY plans into consideration when deciding this.

He’s having me come into Labor and Delivery tomorrow morning to check if I’ve made any progress at all, and also to give my membranes a good strippin’. I’ve spent this past weekend trying out those infamous home get-labor-started remedies, and I have no doubt none of them have had any effect. I also baked these:

sugar_cookies.jpg

And ate them.

Oh, and I was able to get out for the rare movie with my husband (I Am Legend, very good), thanks to the fact that my mom got here on Friday and generously agreed to watch the kid. And did I mention that I’ve got the world’s worst timed cold? Because being 40 weeks pregnant is not enough, I’ve got a headachey, sinusey, sore throat combo going. Needless to say, I’ve been doing quite a bit whining the past few days. However, not nearly as much whining as praying that this sneeze, THIS is gonna be the one that breaks my water. Because sneezes can do that, right? They can pack the required amount of punch to put me in labor, right? RIGHT?

Here’s the belly, 40 weeks, hopefully the last one of these I will be posting:

belly_40_wks.jpg


Actions

Information

3 responses

17 12 2007
AndreAnna

For the love of Pete, woman!

This kid is going to come out with a college diploma!

Good luck and I’ll be thinking of you!

17 12 2007
Monica

Do you happen to have one of those large exercise balls? Sit one one of those and kind of rock on it. I’m pretty sure it helped my cervix beging to dilate. I went to the dr the next morning for my 39 week check up and was 4 cm! I went into labor naturally that night. I know of someone else who sat on one at at birthing class when she was 24 weeks pregnant and went into pre-term labor. Good luck! I can’t wait to see pics of the new addition.

4 01 2008
Storytime « Sublime Bedlam

[…] doing) into Labor and Delivery for my check up. My doctor wasn’t there, I think I may have mentioned something about his total lack of sensitivity for me and my life and my pregnancy and delivery and […]

Leave a Reply

