The weirdest thing…

18 11 2007

About a week ago I was sitting on the couch (I do that a lot). Ethan was napping, so the volume on the TV was very low. Otherwise, I would never have heard… it over the sound Dr. Phil’s wise, wise voice.

It. Imagine the sound your hand makes when you slap water. Can you hear it? That *smack*, almost like a loud pop or a click? It came from my belly. The lower half, right in the middle, to be exact.

I looked around, tried to figure out what could have possibly made the noise… the noise that came from my belly. It was so bizarre that I told myself I had to have imagined it and went back to listening to Dr. Phil scold the cheating husband.

And then a few days later, I heard it again. This time there was no convincing myself that it was something else; that’s kind of hard to do when you’re alone in a silent room. Tonight it happened again, making 5 clicks total. WHAT THE HECK? Whoever heard of Clicking Baby Syndrome? I haven’t. Nor has Google; I asked. All I get are forums from 2003 containing the expert advice of people who don’t know anything.

The big 3-6 week check up is on Wednesday, and I’ll ask my doctor about it. Hopefully he does not laugh in my crazy, crazy face like my husband did when I told him about this. Although, to Jeff’s credit, the words “Ok, you’re going to think I’m nuts, but I heard the baby. No, not felt the baby… heard. No, he didn’t speak to me, don’t be silly. He clicked. Or popped. I’m not sure what it was…” don’t carry much weight after Friday’s little, uh, incident. (The incident I’m referring to involved me calling Jeff in a panic because I was trapped in the back seat of the car with Ethan in the parking lot of a McDonald’s (a fruit & walnut salad craving had hit, so guessing that the clicking/popping noises were somehow the result of a greasy Big Mac is out…).  And by ‘trapped’ I mean that I don’t know how to disengage the child safety locks on the back doors. And I was in the backseat with Ethan, redressing him after he’d flung his shoes and socks to the farthest corners of the car. And… I’m just a little too bulbous at this stage in my pregnancy to attempt scaling the big hunk of arm rest that divides the two front seats and leads to the doors not childly locked. I literally sat there in agony trying to figure a way out for nearly 10 minutes before giving in and calling Jeff. WHO DID NOT ANSWER HIS PHONE. I’d resigned myself to the fact that I was just going to have to live there forever, with Ethan, who would, in four weeks time, be my only help when I GAVE BIRTH IN THE BACK SEAT OF THE CAR. I started to panic and tried and retried and reretried the door handle, hoping that it just needed to be convinced, when Ethan asked, “Out, Mommy? Go Donald’s?” I told him we would in a minute, just as soon as Mommy figured out a way to get out. Ethan answered “Dis, Mommy,” and reached for his door handle. And the door opened. WHY the child lock was not engaged on his door, I still do not know. Another thing I don’t know: if I would have even tried Ethan’s door. I would have sat there and yanked on the handle on my side until my arm fell off. But I can’t say that it would have occurred to me to try the other door. At least not until the contractions had begun, anyway.)

Oh, my stupidity. Where was I? That pregnant-brain-fog I’ve been living in for months now has totally gotten me off track. Ah, yes, check up on Wednesday, going to mention the mysterious clicks to the doc and hope he doesn’t laugh me out of his office. In the meantime, my belly continues to emit sporadic clicks. Like, it’s communicating with something. Does anyone else have any experience with this? I’m going out of my mind!

Here’s the creepy 36 week picture of the creepy belly:

belly_36_wks.jpg


Actions

Information

12 responses

18 11 2007
ethans oma

Sounds kinda extra-terrestrial to me. What good is a child-lock that only locks on the opposite side of the child-seat ? Gotta go, a sweet potato (for the sweet potato casserole for Thanksgiving) just exploded in my oven.

18 11 2007
Caley

What sweet potato casserole?

18 11 2007
ethans oma

pecan-crusted maple sweet potato casserole that i’m making. you gotta try it, we had it at damon’s and felt like we were eating desert instead of veggies

18 11 2007
Caley

It sounds good. Looks like we’ll be having TWO sweet potato dishes, then. But hey, as long as they taste like dessert, then the more the merrier!

18 11 2007
naturallymeg

Wow, that is really strange, the whole clicking thing. Never heard of that before. I think it’s hilarious that you got stuck in the car… sorry. Being a newly not pregnant woman I can feel your fear, not being able to climb over the seat!! How funny! You’ll laugh someday…

18 11 2007
AndreAnna

I’ve had some pretty weird things happen to me and never had any clicking.. maybe he’s got a drumset in there? or, I know, A COUNTDOWN timer! You better start running if the clicks get closer together!

Belly = so cute!

19 11 2007
Jeff

i love how you and your mom are having a conversation on your blog and not on the phone.

and yay! for sweet potatoes!

19 11 2007
ethans oma

Jeff—we were also simultaneously having a second conversation on gmail…..not im, but gmail,we may have a communication problem.

20 11 2007
ChrisW75

I take it you didn’t think to wind the window down, reach out and open the door from the outside? A useful trick with child lock doors, but possibly useless if the windows are electric… Curse modern technology!

20 11 2007
Caley

ChrisW75: Power windows… yeah. Although even if they weren’t, I still probably wouldn’t have thought of that, given the way my mind seems to be working (or not working) these days!

26 11 2007
8 clicks and counting « Sublime Bedlam

[…] Pregnancy   Me, eyes wide open, after an intense, almost painful, sharp gasp: “HE JUST CLICKED! Did you hear […]

26 11 2007
Chasity

This clicking noise is cracking me up! I can’t wait to hear the doctor’s explanation…

Leave a Reply

