Cookies are good for you

8 11 2007

Now that all the Fun Size candy bars are pretty much gone (all the good ones, anyway; I accidentally bought Clark Bars and those, not surprisingly, remain in abundance), well, cry, sob, MOURN! But also, finally, and good riddance; I can function normally now that I’ve come down off that week-long sugar high. Their departure made me realize we were lacking in the availability of baked goods in the house, and luckily I found a new recipe for cookies Kristi gave me a few months ago. (When I do away with one bad habit my only means of survival is to replace it with another one.)

But! These cookies are from Cooking Light Magazine. Light. They’re called Healthier Craving Chocolate Chip cookies, and while this probably means nothing more than if you had two cookies sitting next to each other, one Regular (back of the Tollhouse bag) and one Healthy (this recipe), the Healthy one, as compared to the Regular one, would be the slightly better option. It probably does not mean that you can eat 12 of them because they are Healthy Cookies. It probably does not mean that, hey, while you’re at it, eat 4 more, because these cookies are chock-full of vitamins and minerals and NO FAT whatsoever. They’ve got the word “healthy” in their name, for goodness’ sakes! It probably does not give the eater free reign and the right to consume as many as she wishes.

But do I tell myself these exact things anyway? You bet I do. And I believe myself 100%.

Healthier Craving Chocolate Chip Cookies, from Cooking Light Magazine (and Kristi; thanks!)

2 1/4 C flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1 C packed brown sugar
3/4 C granulated sugar
1/2 C butter, softened
1 tsp vanilla
2 large egg whites
3/4 C semisweet (or white) chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°.

Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour, baking soda, and salt, stirring with a whisk.

Combine sugars and butter in a large bowl; beat with a mixer at medium speed until well blended. Add vanilla and egg whites; beat 1 minute. Add flour mixture and chips; beat until blended.

Drop dough by level tablespoons 2 inches apart onto baking sheets coated with cooking spray. Bake at 350° for 10 minutes or until lightly browned. Cool on pans for 2 mintues. Remove from pans; cool completely on wire racks.


Actions

Information

3 responses

8 11 2007
AndreAnna

Mmmmmmmmmmm. Have I ever told you I would sell my soul for chocolate chip cookies?

9 11 2007
Kristi

Mmm…I gotta pull that recipe back out and make a double batch (so I can freeze some).

Hope you enjoyed them!

9 11 2007
Caley

Kristi: I did enjoy them… when they came out of the oven yesterday morning… then after lunch… then again after dinner… and I’m about to go enjoy them again! Jeff and Ethan liked them, too. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

