My husband, the chef

1 10 2007

We haven’t really gotten an accurate idea of what the whole me-not-cooking-dinner thing is going to be like; in the week since it began, we had Meg’s lovely lasagna to rely on for multiple dinners, and ended up eating out more than we usually do, due partly to an out-of-town guest and partly to my birthday being this past weekend (we drove all the way to Gettysburg, PA- an hour and a half away- just to go to my favorite restaurant). OH, and speaking of my birthday, I would just like to point out this AWESOME cake my husband made for me, from scratch. I don’t even attempt cakes from scratch! He had some trouble when the box of cake flour that he opened turned out to have a hole in the bag, and was then spilled all over the kitchen. But all his hard work was worth it, because it was DELICIOUS.

cake.jpg

You were right, Jeff- it was the puréed raspberries that really did it. 😉

Not to mention the new sewing machine he got for me. I think I’ll keep him.

Jeff is making hot dogs and french fries for dinner tonight, so I’ll be having a chicken salad (hot dogs are one of those pregnant no-no’s). But he’s planned out a menu for the rest of the week that includes tacos, spaghetti and meatballs, stromboli, pesto tuna salad with sun dried tomatoes, and some type of Hawaiian barbeque chicken with pineapples and rice. While all of these meals may not be exactly healthy (to be fair, the tacos are made with turkey, not beef, and we use whole grain pasta… but still), I DON’T HAVE TO COOK THEM, so I don’t care. Besides, he’s doing his best, given he admitted to me yesterday as he watched me make scrambled eggs that he always thought all you had to do was crack an egg over a hot skillet to make scrambled eggs. Baby steps.

So while Jeff slaves away in the kitchen, I get to just sit around and grow… this big, to be exact (29 weeks):

belly_29_wks.jpg


Actions

Information

2 responses

1 10 2007
Swistle

Want. CAKE.

2 10 2007
ethans oma

Nice job Jeff ! You’re such a good husband !

Leave a Reply

