Ultrasound of indecision

25 07 2007

Sitting in the waiting room this morning, I looked at Jeff, raised my eyebrows and said, “Sooo?” But he wouldn’t budge. Nor had I. My name was called and we were taken to the examining room where the first thing we were asked by the technician was The Million Dollar Question. I told her that I didn’t want to know! but my husband did, “right, Jeff?” basically giving him one last chance to give in to my will compromise. But nooo, “That’s right!” he says.

So technician lady says that when we get to that point, she’d have me turn my head away and she’d type it on the screen so Jeff could see. And then I thought, ohhh, this is just freakin’ great. It had been suggested to us by a few people that we go this way, but I just did not see how it could work (I think you’re right, Meg- it only works on TV). I knew that there was no way Jeff could go 4 1/2 months without slipping up, and that I’d be so upset when that happened. But I was as determined not to know as Jeff was to know, and so it looked like there was no other choice.

When we were done, the technician told us that everything looked great but that she wanted to bring the pictures to the doctor anyway, just to make sure, so she’d be back shortly. And she was- she wasn’t gone for more than 5 minutes. Which means that this whole joke (because that’s what it was, a JOKE if we were going to pretend that we could live together for 21 weeks with one of us knowing and the other not) lasted LESS THAN FIVE MINUTES before I’d wrangled the info out of a very willing-to-spill-the-beans Jeff.

And…

It’s a boy! When Jeff told me, I cried (happy! tears of joy!) and asked him about 7 bajillion times “For real? It’s really a boy?”, because I was SURE that he was just messing with me, and that the next words out of his mouth would be “No, I’m just kidding, it’s a girl” followed by “No, seriously, it is a boy” etc. and so forth, all day long. That’s what I would do if I was the one with all the power.

And the next thing I said: “Crap! What are we going to name him??” I’d had that girl name all picked out, first and middle, ready to go. WHY are boy names so much more difficult? One hurdle down (although I’m still not quite over just how easily I gave in to the temptation of knowing- I am so weak!) and immediately up pops a new one. At least we’ve got a good 4 months to decide. And, also, I’m glad I didn’t take Jeff up on his offer (“I’ll go with not finding out the sex IF you let me name the baby…”) because in 4 months we would undoubtedly be welcoming the newest addition to our family, baby Ever Adams. I don’t think I could deal with that.

So without further ado, here he is in his first photo, Baby Boy Adams:

ultrasound.jpg

 


Actions

Information

2 responses

26 07 2007
ethans oma

Awwww !! He looks just like Ethan !! Which, of course, means he’s absolutely adorable !! Thanks for the picture !!

26 07 2007
Kristi

Aww…congrats! Time to pull out all the neatly labeled and packed stuff =o)

You may be glad you know, at one point or another…

Leave a Reply

