Cravings, and the Should we find out? question

18 07 2007

When I was about 6 or 7 weeks pregnant (meaning, back when I still naively believed that I would eat not a scrap of junk food for the next 7 and a half months), I spent around $50 at Whole Foods one day on nothing but bulk packages of sunflower seeds, cashews, dried apples, walnuts, peanuts, soynuts, pistachios, M&Ms, etc.. So confident was I that at every pregnant chocolatey or salty craving, I would happily turn to my own customized trail mix for satisfaction.

I made up about 6 big baggies full of the mix, and I nearly finished the first one. The second one I threw out a quarter of the way into the bag. This is where the rest have sat for the past 12 weeks:

trail_mix.jpg

Between weeks 7 and 11, while suffering from morning/noon/night sickness, I would gag every time I opened this cupboard, the smell of the salty nuts co-mingling in grossness with the chocolate knocking me back every single time. I couldn’t stand even the sight of them, and would avoid getting things out of that cupboard. (I still don’t know why I didn’t get rid of them then, or at least move them to a less frequented cupboard or box or padlocked safe or something.)

They still sit there, but since I’ve been past the nausea stage for a while now, I can deal with the Cupboard ‘o Sick alright. No matter how hard I try, though, I just can’t bring myself to throw them out. $50 worth of healthy pregnant snacking! Down the drain! They’re most likely not even fresh enough to eat anymore, anyway.

However, it doesn’t matter. My whole I’m-gonna-eat-nothing-but-yogurt-salad-fruit-etc. mantra didn’t even last till I’d started showing. I’m still doing a better job at eating healthily than I did with my first pregnancy, but I by no means only eat healthy foods. I’ve mentioned my love of barbeque potato chips, candy bars (particularly Twix and Butterfinger… mmm…) and Italian Ice a few times. But it seems like everyday I picture a new scrumptious food in my head and immediately decide that if I don’t get it, my world and the world of everyone around me will end.

Today it was coffee cake. I realized that if I wanted to be able to sleep tonight, then by George I’d better get some coffee cake in me Or Else. I found a recipe in my trusty Betty Crocker cookbook and after dinner ran to the store to pick up the 2 ingredients I didn’t already have in the house.

It was while at Safeway that I got my first pregnancy comment from a stranger, making me now Officially Pregnant Looking (I’ve left that stage where curious strangers play the “fat or pregnant?” game behind, is what this means). One of the cashiers saw my belly and asked if I was having a boy or a girl, which got me wondering: does everyone these days find out the sex of the baby ahead of time?

With our first child, I went into the pregnancy adamant that we would not find out. Come the day of the ultrasound, however, I all of a sudden needed to know. Which made Jeff happy, since he’d wanted to know from the beginning. This time, however, I don’t want to know. Part of the reason I changed my mind last time was that never having had a child before, there was just soooo much that I didn’t know about pregnancy, the labor to come, and infants in general, and this was one thing that I could know.

This time, however, old hat that pregnancy is to me (Ha!), there isn’t that fear of the unknown. I’m actually looking forward to the surprise reveal of the sex at birth, and I have no plans to change my mind. Which means that Jeff and I had better come to some kind of agreement, since he, once again, wants to find out if he’ll have another little Ethan on his hands or, gasp, an alien. I mean, a girl. We scheduled the 20 week ultrasound at which we can find out, or not, at my appointment yesterday (speaking of, update: last check up I was told I’d better start gaining and stop losing weight, and this time found out that I’ve gained “a whopping four pounds,” my doctor sarcastically told me. He wants more? Seriously? Cause I can give him more. But then he’ll just be yelling at me that I’m gaining TOO MUCH weight. They are never happy, are they?), so that gives us 2 weeks to fight it out and come to a decision. I have a feeling though, that MY opinion, ultimately, is the only one that counts in this matter, so I’m not too worried.

The coffee cake is done now, and I’m about to dig into a slice:

coffee_slice.jpg

Looks good, don’t it? You want some, don’t you? While I couldn’t be paid to give some up, I will generously share my recipe…

Sour Cream Coffee Cake

3 C all purpose flour

1 ½ tsp baking powder

1 ½ tsp baking soda

¾ tsp salt

1 ½ C sugar

¾ C butter or stick margarine, softened

1 ½ tsp vanilla

3 large eggs

1 ½ C sour cream

Brown Sugar Filling:

½ C packed brown sugar

½ C finely chopped nuts

1 ½ tsp ground cinnamon

Vanilla Glaze:

½ C powdered sugar

¼ tsp vanilla

2 to 3 tsp milk

coffee_cake.jpg1. Heat oven to 350. Grease bottom and sides of 2 loaf pans, 9×5 inches, with shortening.

2. Make Brown Sugar Filling; set aside. Mix flour, baking soda and powder, and salt; set aside.

3. Beat sugar, butter, vanilla and eggs in large bowl on medium speed 2 minutes. Beat about ¼ the flour mixture and ¼ the sour cream at a time alternately into the sugar mixture on low speed until blended.

4. Spread about a ¼ of the batter (about 1 ½ C) into each pan, then sprinkle each with ¼ of the brown sugar filling; repeat once.

5. Bake about 45 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes in pans on wire rack. Remove from pans and to wire rack and cool 20 minutes. Drizzle with Vanilla Glaze. Serve warm or cool.


Actions

Information

3 responses

19 07 2007
Meg

OK, seriously…were the picture and recipe really necessary? You couldn’t just brag about your delicious coffee cake with text? Because even though I’m not at all hungry, I want some (now!)…and I’m not even pregnant.

19 07 2007
ethans oma

mmmmm..I might have to make some of that ! It really looks delicious.

12 10 2007
Understanding Contraception: Your Birth Control Choices

Understanding Contraception: Your Birth Control Choices

Understanding Contraception: Your Birth Control Choices

Leave a Reply

