Packing, Schmacking

28 06 2007

We’re leaving for a two-week trip home tomorrow. I should be packing. I should be doing laundry. I should be eating lunch (a slice of bread with peanut butter on it, a string cheese, and a handful of cashew nuts doesn’t count as lunch, does it?). I should be doing any number of things productive, but I’m not.

Instead, I just spent 10 minutes copying down Swistle’s Postpartum Chocolate Chip cookie recipe, while eating a fun size bag of peanut M&M’s. And now I’m going to go bake those cookies (I don’t care if I’m not postpartum; I am pregnant, and pregnancy appreciates a good cookie), during which time, when I add the vanilla, I will undoubtedly find myself wondering for the 37 millionth time why vanilla extract doesn’t taste like it smells.

I planned it so that we would run out of milk and bread the same day we left for our trip. So why am I making cookies the day before we leave? It’s not to use up the eggs in the fridge; there’s actually a dozen and a half in there doing nothing; the cookie recipe only calls for two. I can’t very well bake up a couple dozen cookies and then leave them here to rot for the next two weeks, can I? NO. Man. I guess I’ll just have to bring them with me, then…

Perhaps I can use the cookies as toddler-shutter-uppers. I’m not looking forward to the 7 hour drive with a two year old. I plan to give him Benadryl right before we leave (instead of his nightly Zyrtec), so that should give us a few hours without screaming, crying and killing. Hm, yes, I do believe the cookies will make terrific bribes.

If I ever get the cookies made…

I put Ethan down for his nap almost 45 minutes ago. So far not only have I managed to not yet start the cookies, but Ethan has managed to not fall asleep yet, too. I can hear him in there right now, jumping up and down, singing the ABCs (only it sounds like “ah bay dee, ah bay dee, ah bay deeeeee… ah bay dee, ah bay dee” sung to the tune of “Where is Thumbkin?” for reasons I’ll never understand). All I’ve actually accomplished is writing about cookies that I plan to bake. Oh yeah, and there’s the packing I still haven’t done. Man, I can’t even procrastinate right.

cookies.jpg

Did finally get those cookies baked (YUM).

Still have not packed.


Actions

Information

5 responses

29 06 2007
Kristi

Have fun in Erie…it’s been forever since I’ve been back there…

Cookies. Yum! Cooking Light magazine has a killer cookie recipe….you can eat like 5 and not feel guilty 😉

29 06 2007
Caley

Well, if for some reason you find yourself in town, let us know!

I would love to get that recipe! I do a good job of eating 5 and not feeling guilty as it is (“Cookies 1, 2 and 3 were for me… Now I’ll eat two more for the baby…”), but a healthier recipe would probably be better. 🙂

29 06 2007
ethans oma

Sorry, I think you get the procrastinating from me….I don’t know why, but somehow that makes me feel entitled to one of those delicious looking cookies, if there’s any left when you get here, that is.

4 07 2007
fba688de3894fac5fa0c8e35d9271413

fba688de3894fac5fa0c8e35d9271413

fba688de3894fac5fa0c8e35d9271413

17 07 2007
a1956ced021f7d61a741887b7c98a5e4

a1956ced021f7d61a741887b7c98a5e4

a1956ced021f7d61a741887b7c98a5e4

Leave a Reply

