The child formerly known as Ethan

7 05 2007

Yesterday Ethan stumped us when he went around all day saying a new word. It was a word I can’t recall using any specific time, but a word that I know I’ve had occasion to use at least 2 or 3 times in my life. And here was Ethan, tearing through the house (because he no longer walks, stumbles, toddles, etc.; he literally tears no matter where he’s going or what he’s doing), saying very clearly, not mumbly whatsoever, over and over again, to no one in particular, “T-bone… T-bone… T-bone… T-bone…”

“Where did he get this word?” we asked each other.

“Why does he keep saying it?” we wondered.

“What is the meaning of this? What are you trying to tell us, Ethan? You’re craving a good steak? You owe a bookie some cash, and he’s on his way to find you and make you pay? You no longer wish to be called by your given name, and want to be known only as “T-bone” from this point forward? WHAT?”

This morning we watched Clifford The Big Red Dog together, and as the dogs all talked about how each dog is special and each has a special thing they’re good at, Ethan started in with the “T-bone” repeating again. And then I finally caught on- one of the dogs is named T-bone! (And he does strike you as a T-bone, does he not?) Wow. I wasn’t aware of just how easily kids pick things up from TV, especially at this young an age. And to think we went around calling him T-bone all yesterday evening.

*****

Update: Unwelcome Cat

Thanks to all of you commenters for your much-needed suggestions. Since I couldn’t find the BB gun and I didn’t want to have the added trouble of purchasing a new vacuum after ours inevitably overheated, I went with the water idea.

The first time I tried spraying him he freaked out and returned to his balcony. I thought, wow, that was easy! But he was back again hours later. Not that I minded- spraying him with water is almost as satisfying as I imagine shooting him with a BB gun would be (not that I sit around imagining what it would be like to shoot Unwelcome Cat, not at all…). He didn’t come back again the rest of the day.

The next day, there he was on our balcony, at 5:30 in the morning. I’m starting to wonder if the neighbors even remember that they own a pet; I knew that they leave him out there all day, but all night, too? I grabbed the spray bottle and let loose; nothing. He twitched and mewed, even ran underneath the table. But he didn’t leave. Frustrated, I went back to ignoring him. The rest of the day, I would periodically grab the spray bottle and have at it, but nothing changed.

Until the next day. I don’t know what was going on that day, but he is once again afraid of the water, and for the past half a week or so, he has been back only a handful of times. Now, we don’t even have to spray him. The mere threat of our presence and the spray bottle permanently set next to the door are doing the trick. I wonder if the neighbors ever noticed their cat returning home, drenched and scared? I have to bet they probably did not.

*****

Also, just so you know, I plan to continue to refer to Ethan as T-bone. How can I not?

hair.jpg

T-bone, sporting his new haircut.


Actions

Information

6 responses

7 05 2007
Kim

T-bone’s new hair cut looks spiffy! 🙂

8 05 2007
ethans oma

ummm…I know you don’t remember when this happened because you were about the same age that Ethan is, but I thought you might remember me telling the story a couple thousand times….right after Shawn started school we suddenly noticed that you were constantly saying ” runaramp”. Could not imagine what you were saying for quite awhile, until one day I overheard Shawn talking to you and the mystery was solved. It seems that some of the older kids at school called the younger ones “little wimps” and I heard Shawn say that to you, then you said it to him and then I knew.

8 05 2007
Kristi

Hah…as SOON as yoy mentioned Clifford…I knew where it was coming from! Lila used to watch, read, play Clifford all the time. And she has a stuffed T-bone and Cleo =o)

These are the things nicknames are made of. heheee….

8 05 2007
Meg

Wow! It’s amazing how much that haircut did for little T-bone – he doesn’t look like a miniature old man anymore!

9 05 2007
Caley

Ethan’s Oma: Yes, I have heard the Runaramp story about a jillion times. So many times that I FEEL as though its an actual memory, despite the fact that I was 2. But more importantly here is the fact that Shawn was calling me a little wimp. I didn’t know he was ever actually mean to me! At least T-bone is a NICE nickname.

Let’s hope that T-bone sticks, and be thankful that I’m not known as Runaramp.

9 05 2007
ethans oma

I know !!! But that’s the meanest thing he ever did to you, and I don’t think he actually thought he was being mean. He was only 5.

Leave a Reply

