Soup for you

6 04 2007

I haven’t cooked dinner the past three nights (or on Monday night, either, as a matter of fact; are you sitting down? Jeff cooked that night. I’m not even joking. The second time in three weeks. He must want something…) and I don’t plan to again tonight, either. How is this possible? Are my family and I dining on Lucky Charms? Only in Ethan’s dreams.

Tuesday night I cooked up a batch of THE best spicy tortilla soup EVER, and its still going. I don’t think I’ll need to cook again till Sunday! Got my flip flops on, a drink in my hand, and I don’t have to cook dinner… am I still on vacation?

So the soup was so amazing that I feel the need to share my recipe. I served mine with warm cornbread and some homemade iced tea. Martha’s got nothin’ on me.

Chicken Tortilla Soup

tortilla.jpg2 baking potatoes, cubed and boiled

6 tbsp vegetable oil

7-10 6-in corn tortillas, cut into bite-sizedish pieces

6 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 C fresh cilantro

1 smallish onion, chopped

1 14oz jar salsa

1 14oz can diced tomatoes

1 tbsp ground cumin

1/2 tbsp chili powder

1 tsp cayenne pepper

3 bay leaves

1 tsp salt

6 C chicken broth

1 prepared roasted chicken (from the grocery store; saves lots of work)

1 8oz can corn

lime

grated cheddar cheese

sour cream

tortilla chips

Heat the oil in a large pot. Saute the tortillas, garlic, cilantro and onion for 3 minutes.

Stir in the salsa and tomatoes and bring to a boil. Add the cumin, chili powder, cayenne pepper, bay leaves, salt and chicken stock. Reduce heat to medium and let simmer for 25 to 30 minutes. Remove bay leaves and stir in chicken (that you’ve removed from the bone and cut into bite-sized pieces), potatoes and corn. Heat through. Just before serving, squeeze in a little lime juice.

Serve into bowls and stir in some of the grated cheese. Top with a dollop of sour cream (I dare you to read that and not leave with the Daisy jingle permanently stuck in your head, but just in case: “…a dollop of daisy, a dollop of daisy, yeah…”) and some crushed tortilla chips. I hope you enjoy it, becuase you’re going to be eating it for the next 5 nights!


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

