Sunday Scribblings Week 6: My shoes

6 05 2006

The first pair of shoes I can remember ever owning were, to me, a 6-year-old, the most awesome things EVER. They were purple sneakers, with two velcro straps, and they had these yellowish swirly designs on the sides. THAT GLOWED IN THE DARK. How freaking cool is that?

I remember wanting shoes that glowed in the dark so badly. I finally got them, and I have this vivid memory of sitting in the backseat of the car, going through a tunnel somewhere in either Washington or Oregon, my eyes transfixed on the glowing shapes, feeling total bliss. I didn’t need anything else. I was happy. I had my glow-in-the-dark sneakers and nothing could go wrong.

Flash forward about 15 years: I’m in college, I have a presentation to give and I need to look cute. I don’t remember what the rest of the outfit consisted of, but I remember the cute little sandals I wore. They were simple, black strappy things, about 3 inches thick. I remember feeling, as I was leaving my dorm room, that even if I bombed the presentation, at least I looked good.

I’d made it halfway across campus, to the student lounge-type area, HORRIBLE blisters on both my feet. I couldn’t go any further. I managed to drag myself to class, where I ended up giving the whole presentation in my bare feet. So much for “at least looking good.”

I bet my presentation would have ROCKED had I worn purple glow-in-the-dark sneakers.


Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

