Monster Scenes

13 04 2006

Growing up I always had a fascination with monsters. I would go to the library and check out a series of books that were all about the classic Universal monster movies. You know Dracula, Frankenstien, Wolfman, The Creature from the Black Lagoon, etc. I would constantly go back to the library and check them out over and over, rereading each one and loving every minute of it.Dracula

My personal favorite of course is Dracula. There is just something so cool about him. He’s not an ugly, hairy, or even grotesque monster. He looks like a normal person. He’s very charming and seductive. He lures his prey in and bares his fangs into their neck, draining them of their life force. THAT’S what makes him scary.

“I am Dracula. I bid you welcome.” Count Dracula, Dracula (1931)

When I was attending grade school we had a car pool of four different families. I remember bringing my Dracula monster book along with me and telling the other passengers all about the book and how cool Dracula was. The next day one of the little girls that rode with us wasn’t there. Her dad happened to be the one with driving duty that week and he explained to us that she had been up all night scared that Dracula was going to get her. He asked us very nicely not to discuss monsters again on our rides to school. I was of course, very embarresed and it was then that I realized that not everyone shared my fascination with monsters.

Monster Scene

When I ran into this link it brought back a lot of memories. I would have loved to own one of these sets as a kid (I’d even own one now if they weren’t going for $300 on eBay). I wouldn’t have seen anything wrong with it, but my parents would have thought otherwise. As an adult now, I can’t believe that they would be able to run an ad like that. I personally think it’s hilarious but at the same time realize that it’s definitely not appropriate for kids (vampirella cameltoe?).

However the classic Universal monster movies are appropriate for kids and Ethan will definitely be getting an education in the finer points of the undead, zombies, werewolves, and pieced-together laboratory creations.

“The strength of the vampire is that people will not believe in him.” Van Helsing, Dracula (1931)


Actions

Information

2 responses

13 04 2006
Caley

First- great post. It’s nice to see you post something other than a video game review šŸ˜‰

Second- loved the story about how you made a little girl afraid to go to sleep. That’s so you! It’s easy to see where you get your need to scare girls from… ahem, The Exorcist incident…

Third- the monster movies MAY be appropriate for kids… but you might want to wait till Ethan’s a little older for those.

13 04 2006
Jeff

i didn’t say i was going to make him watch it tonight!

and thank you!

Leave a Reply

